Home Sweet Home

Sorry it’s been so long since the last update, I hope no one was nail-biting wondering if they’d made it.

The guys are home safe, and back into the swing of things. I’ve talked to my dad a few times since they’ve been back, and we’re planning a “book meeting” for some time in the near future.

What comes next is a bit of a treat. I met a guy named Dane Brown at an event called Barcamp, and again at Casecamp, where I talked about this site. He said that his dad had done the same route years ago, and his sister had written a short story about their ride.

Well, the author of that short story, Laena Brown, has given me permission to publish it here.  By the sounds of things, there’s quite a bit of contrast between the ride my dad took this year, and the ride their dad took all those years ago.  No support truck, no tent, and next to no money.

Laena’s story is in the next post.

1 Comment

Filed under News and Stuff, Road Stories

One response to “Home Sweet Home

  1. Jen

    They’re Back!!!!!!!!!!

    Hi. Unfortunately, I haven’t had much time to put in my two cents over the past 6 weeks.
    Needless to say, I am extremely proud of my dad, Real, for taking on, and even attempting such an incredible trip, but also my mom Jannine, for braving the road and the stories…….. I just know she was in her glory, setting up, cooking, and having the cooler full of beer ready for the guys at the end of the day.

    Today, October 15th, marks the return of my parents from this amazing trip. Sounds like they had an amazing time!!!!! Lot’s of fun, laughs, and beer. Everything seems fine, mom, dad, the trailer and the dogs, all came back in one piece. I definitely got an earful tonight and can’t wait to hear more…….

    Congrats to all the guys on there accomplishment……

    Maybe now that they’re home, people will stop asking me if my dad is wearing underwear or not and how my mom is holding up?????!!!!!!!!!!

    Love your daughter Jen, Shane, Emma, & Jacob Gustafson.

Leave a Reply

